Fiji 2017

I am not sure if I can even come up with the words that will express how incredible my time in Fiji was.  When I was first planning my trip to Fiji I was nervous as this was my first solo vacation.  Yes I have been travelling on my own for work and school but never just to relax.  I don’t even remember what I was nervous about because the people I met and the experiences I had were amazing and I never truly felt alone.

My first stop in Fiji was at Barefoot Manta Island part of the Yasawa Islands.  I spent 2 nights and 3 days on this island but it felt so much longer.  The snorkelling at this island was great.  I saw some awesome coral and wildlife.  Although I didn’t get to go snorkelling with the manta rays as they were not present in the channel while I was at the island and hadn’t been for some time before that, while we were leaving to catch the ferry we did see a small manta ray close to the coral.  The people I met on this island were incredible.  I met this one couple who at the time had been travelling for 20 months and were on there last country before returning home.  There story was incredible and I hope that someday I can meet up with them again!

My second stop on this vacation was at Barefoot Kuata Island, which is also part of the Yasawa Islands, where I also spent 2 nights and 3 days.  This island was different than Barefoot Manta Island as there was more activities available.  This island had 3 swimming pools which I thought was interesting as we were on an island, hence surrounded by water.  The restaurant/bar area also had a sand floor which was incredible and staff made you feel like you were part of the family.  The number of guests on this island was also less than on Barefoot Manta.  As far as the activities that were on the island I took part in both the Bull Shark Dive and the Reef Shark Snorkel.  Both experiences were unique in there own right and the views were incredible.  The bull sharks were so close and there were so many of them that it was almost unbelievable.  The reef sharks also came close probably within a foot of myself and were only about 2 feet long.  I also meet some incredible people on this island and hope that along our travels we will be able to meet up again as well.

My final stop was back on the mainland in Nadi at the Bamboo Hostel.  This hostel is advertised as the famous hostel on the beach and it lives up to its reputation.  The food was amazing along with the beach and pool area.  I spent most of my time lounging around on the beach with a couple girls who were also staying at the hostel.  I had the pleasure of joining them and another guy at the mud baths just outside of town.  I must admit I was sceptical of covering myself in mud but it was lots of fun and my skin did feel softer afterwards.  Izzy, Ciara and Gregory definitely made the mud bath more fun and I had the pleasure of their company for my birthday which is definitely one I won’t be forgetting any time soon!

All in all, Fiji lived up to its reputation of white sandy beaches and amazing snorkelling.  I am grateful I was able to see some of the islands if not all as Fiji is definitely bigger than you think, but this just gives me an excuse to go back.  Along with all the people I met along the way, you have all had an impact on my life!

 

 

Leave a Reply

